Tony - Chimerical

I change my mind a lot. I usually don't agree with what I say very much. I'm an awful liar. – David Bowie

The Time I Set the Oven Ablaze

 

Ovens are meant to contain fires, I learned (more or less): a fact I did not know prior to this event, though one I certainly will not forget. I was young, though older than I would like to admit, and my cooking skills were sub-par in comparison to what they have developed into. Parchment paper, I now know, is something that should be used sparingly, not in abundance. Unfortunately, I did not understand this, and cut quite a large square that hung limply from the edges of the metal pan, dangling loosely above the heating element inside of the oven. This element, as of now, was aglow with a crimson hue. I closed the oven, then began the wait for my pastries.

For a little while, I stood around, waiting for my food to finish, as my parents do not want me to leave the kitchen when something is cooking, as paying no attention can result in a fire. It would seem that paying attention can result in one as well, as I saw a peculiar orange glow emanating from the glass of the oven. At his point, I was rather panicked, and opened the little door to see what the glow was; it was a blazing fire. For a minute,  I pondered what I might do, going over the options and searching for the fire extinguisher. After deciding that filling the oven with white foam was likely not the most viable option, I chose to go ask my parents what to do.

So, leaving the oven door open, fire still blazing, I strode upstairs to my parents’ bedroom door. My knock was one devoid of panic, one that certainly should have been louder, and one that my father did not seem to read as a precursor to my telling of the dire situation downstairs. That would be why he nonchalantly told the person on the other end of his phone call to hold on a minute while he went to answer the door, crossing the room at a leisurely stroll. Upon opening his door, witnessing me standing there, my face rather calm, he likely did not expect to hear the words that came out of my mouth.

“There’s a fire in the oven.”

His eyes widened and he ran downstairs, apologizing profusely to his phone, explaining that his son had set the oven ablaze. I followed, and found him standing over the smoking appliance, examining the situation. There was a blackened mass of paper and embers in the mouth of the oven, the edges of the parchment paper still aglow with flickers of orange. The three little pastries sat within this mountain of scorched paper, all painted with ash, the dough burned beyond recognition and the insides strewn across the tray like entrails.

He made me eat them anyway.

Image: https://thumbs.gfycat.com/DimwittedAlarmedAnkole-small.gif

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Previous Post

4 Comments

  1. unas1 April 9, 2019

    Dear Tony;

    I can relate to the situation very much, the reason being that I myself have set a variety of foods on fire, burning them so severely, that you can´t differentiate the food from pieces of coal in the barbecue.
    I really enjoyed the variation of words you used to describe this event, and one piece of advice I could give you would be to write a little more about how you felt in the moment; what thoughts raced across your mind. I feel that this would have made the narrative a little more interesting than it already is.

    Sincerely,
    Unas

    • Chimerical April 9, 2019 — Post Author

      Dear Unas;

      I can see what you mean about the lack of thoughts. Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed it, though. I will, as always, take your thoughts into consideration. Writing is a fluid thing, I have found, and you can always get better with the opinions of others. Thank you for giving yours.

      Sincerely,
      Tony

  2. JimJam April 10, 2019

    Dear Tony;
    This is a masterfully written piece, and was a learning experience because you used words in places that I never would’ve thought of. They worked! You have a moral, its not short or long, and its well connected from start to finish.

    If I could say what you could work on it would be indenting your paragraphs when they start, I’m pretty sure you have to do that.

    However, just like previously stated this was a great work of art, and I could learn a couple of things from it.

    From,
    Jimmy

    • Chimerical April 10, 2019 — Post Author

      Dear Jimmy;

      Thank you for reading this. I see what you are saying about the indents. Formatting is my downfall most of the time, so I have to work on paying attention to it.

      Sincerely,
      Tony

Leave a Reply

© 2024 Tony – Chimerical

Theme by Anders Norén

Skip to toolbar